Reading from the news, some auto accidents are caused by driving under influence or DUI. Although drinking can be fun, but driving with the influence of alcohol isn’t good and dangerous. Not only will it cause an accident also, chances of injuries and even death would arise. Months ago, there was an 83 year old man who was put to jail the moment he met an accident. His driving while under the influence of alcohol caused a 53 year old man and another 40 year old man both riding in a motorcycle injured. The authorities in Florida detained him to jail and released him after the police filed the report of the incident.
It is obvious in a DUI accident that the driver is negligent and reckless. It is the right of the victim to contact an attorney and file charges and against the driver causing the accident to recover on the damages from the accident. There are steps to follow whenever caught in an accident when the driver is under the influence. It may be a traumatic experience; expert lawyers assist their clients all the way until the compensation will be rewarded. Keep in mind that the victim should report the incident immediately. As the police record the accident, ensure to ask for a copy of the report with all the information in it. It is necessary to seek for medical attention. The personal injury protection or the PIP can cover on the medical expenses and all the necessary care and attention else, it would be up to the courts in Florida to decide on how much would be needed to recover on the damages. Also, take photos of the incident should it be possible.
DUI Accident VS Auto Accident
Accidents that involve DUI drivers can be legally complex. It is not at all time that the victim and his family can file the charges against and consider it negligence. Although it may be obvious that the person under the influence has caused the accident, personal injury lawyers can explain their rights to recover from the accident. In addition, insurance companies can cover on the damages from the accident such as medical and hospital bills, doctor’s visit expenses, treatment and the like. And whatever exceeds these expenses, victims can file for a claim against the person who has caused the accident. At times, families and victims of the accident are carried by their emotions and pursue filing charges against the person causing the accident. DUI is considered a crime in the state of Florida. Therefore, it has a specific penalty according to the incident that has happened. Say a 50 hour community service and a $10 fine are required from the DUI driver. Since these are mandate by the State Attorney’s Office, sometimes, they may require the victim to be present during proceedings. Victims act as witnesses during the proceedings. Keep in mind that this do not affect on the claim being filed.
It may not be easy to recover on a DUI accident, a mixed of emotion, trauma, not to mention the physical injury that has caused. Lawyers know well how to represent their clients.